International Days

Yesterday, the 3 of us went to the International Showcase for International Days 2010 at TRU, which was the performance of international music/dancing/singing by students and staff at the university. It was so well attended, full enthusiasm and heart and involvement by both staff and students, but I do have to say that the performances themselves were …. meh….as mon mari would say. Until the last act: the Bhangra Boys from India. I think it was 8 men, wearing matching costumes, dancing in dazzling choreography and boundless energy. They had the whole auditorium stamping and weaving to the beats of modern Bhangra and it was pure rhythm and energy that overtook the room. SO good. The music, their physicality and skill just pulled me in, really got me into the beat and the moment… I just had to ask a colleague for a copy of the music they used yesterday. I am so glad we ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​a​​​​​​​​t​​​​​​t​​​​e​​​​​​​n​​​​​​d​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​e​​​​​​​​​​​​​d​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​ ​​​​​​​​ ​​​​ ​​​​​​​​ ​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​

wpid-screenshot2010-02-05at3-53-01pm-2010-02-5-15-43.png

The other thing that was a delight for me is that Le petit really bobs and bops to the music. He’s got rhythm, the little. Comme sa mere, pas son papa… well, that’s harsh. Mari has some rhythm, especially with some beer in him.

Another exciting thing, I started a mini-blog. My Posterous. I don’t know what I want to say every day and what this blog will be about, but it’s a start and I find the process as interesting as the challenge to produce good writing or thought to share with others.

wpid-screenshot2010-02-05at3-59-03pm-2010-02-5-15-43.png

So, that’s my blog, theomama’s blits and it’s a trial run. But I want to make it good. I think I will post something to it right now, in fact.

