A sea out there

It’s been just over 6 months since the Macbook and all things Apple have entered my life. Well, that is, physically entered, since I was a wannabe member of the Mac clan for about 2 years prior.

It’s been about 2 years since I really became interested in all things computer tech.

It’s been about 4 years since I became interested in digital media and gadgets.

So, it’s been 4 years since my introduction to digital life and tech and well, the whole world associated with using and learning about technology in our daily lives. I mean, conscious, deliberate use of tech, not the automatic necessity of it from being at a university that requires word processed papers, or at a workplace that uses internal communications software.

In those 4 years, a key concept that has struck me is that one can not easily keep up with the changes in current technology, unless one spends chunks of TIME reading, studying, following the news, and making an effort to learn what is going on. As a consumer and as someone connected to technology as a delivery mode for the product of my work, I am very interested in keeping up with what’s current – but there is SO much out there. So much to learn – jargon, key concepts, slang, the players – and being a generalist isn’t very helpful unless one is a media writer/worker. The sea of KNOWLEDGE is really really VAST.

I’ve learned LOTS, I would say even tons, since 2006 but what does that mean? What I knew last year isn’t relevant today because the software, website, the company, whatever, is on its way to becoming obsolete, or has been phased out, or is now at version 5. Do you know what I mean?

It’s just so FAST.

It’s not a complaint, it’s just my observation that the pace of change is so different from anything else I’ve learned or studied about or had to apply in work or in personal hobbies.

