QR codes

QR codes are making their way into the daily lives of Americans in a big way after a long successful career in Asia. There are ample reader applications available for all mobile platforms (iOS being my choice). There are also many websites where you can create your own QR codes in very little time and share them with others or print them out for inclusion on your cards and other promotional materials.

QR codes make using business cards to exchange information so much easier, you’ll wonder why you ever did it the other way. But that’s not the only thing that you can spreading around with regard to those little paper rectangles of information.

Yesterday in class we talked about personal QR codes and how they are increasingly becoming identifiers of objects, sites, apps, and more and more, of people. Can a person’s identity be captured and shared in a little black and white square made up of dots and squares?

I’m not against it, just trying to grasp it. I am comfortable with online “business cards” – that’s pretty telling about one’s comfort level about being publicly accessible, but the card has an image of me and I personalized it, made it mine. Certainly, QR code could be shaped according to how and what I want it to say but I think it is more troubling for me because the ACTUAL physical representation of the code is just that – a code, it’s so…. numeric, so technical, a blip to be scanned into a little device. Still….. efficient and merely ONE way of exchanging information. 

It’s coincidence that I also found out yesterday that the site where I keep my public profile has just rolled out a new service offering a QR code/mobile option for premium users to be more quickly able to share contact information with others. 

I’m going to think more about this, if it’s a service that is value-adding enough to adopt (eventually, not anytime soon). 

