A statement of research interests

Tonight, I had to write a self-introduction for one of the first classes of my masters program. The introduction is supposed to include a statement about one’s research interests and pursuits.

After a few fumbling drafts, this is what I came up with:

My research interests are in the areas of the formation of individual and collective identities, encouraged and influenced by i) the visual records created using photographic social media apps on mobile devices and ii) broadband access. I’m also interested in the identity-formation of small cities and hyper-local communities.

Even though it’s a big mouthful, I am satisfied with it for now, but I have a gut feeling that it will change and narrow down as the semester progresses.

Look forward to it!

 

 

