Wide open in the field

As I was preparing for a class presentation on reception studies, I came across Professor Henry Jenkins’ web page at M.I.T. I was taken aback by his listing of academic roles at the institution:

ACADEMIC POSITIONS

1998- Director, Comparative Media Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1997- Full Professor of Literature, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1994-97 Associate Professor of Literature, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1993-98 Director, Film and Media Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1993-95 Acting Director, Gay and Lesbian Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1992- Member, Steering Committee, Women’s Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

1992-94 Member, Steering Committee, Cultural Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

 

A jack of all trades, though I am sure the second part of the saying wouldn’t apply. Just look at the disciplines in which he is listed. 

I’m noticing more and more that contemporary media/communication studies scholars are usually well-versed in a range of areas, though maybe not as broadly as Prof. Jenkins, and this helps to assuage my anxiety that I’m going to be pigeon-holed for the rest of my academic life in the topic I pick for my masters thesis. I’m finding that this is not the case for academic lifers in communication and culture.  This is a good thing.

