Late night prowls


men asleep father and son

So, while the rest of the world sleeps away (see above: at our place, too), I’m whittling away the wee hours of the night catching up on academic writing/ thinking/processing/reading.

This is not a healthy time to be up. But it’s. so. dang. productive.

What this means is that I have not found a good path, yet, for my work/home/school balance. I’ve been trying, really trying, to get school work done in the regular day. But after coming home from the office at 5:30-ish, sitting down for dinner, cleaning up, putting our little one to bed, it’s 8:30 pm and I’m pretty tired and my mind doesn’t process well at that time. It takes a good hour or a bit to get into solid processing, mode, too, after cracking open a chapter or article, so it doesn’t work at all if I’m totally bushed.

And thus the reading and writing lags (well, the academic reading and writing. Fanfic? That’s another story.)

So with my first deadline since I completed my first year of graduate studies coming up this week, I’ve been trying something new: sleeping when the little one sleeps, getting up at 11:30-ish (which is actually nice because then I get to see my husband when he comes in from his job at midnight), then working for 4-5 hours, going back to sleep until 7 or 8am then getting ready for a new workday.

After a few days of this, my body is more tired than usual, but it’s a new schedule. I don’t know if I can maintain it for a long time, but it’s been helping me get some good reading done. So while I feel wierd and creepy being up this late, I take comfort in the fact that there are probably tons of grad students who are also late night owls, finding their groove in the wee hours of the dark night.

