The Apple Halo effect

I was listening to a podcast this week, I can’t remember which one, where Frederico Viticci of MacStories.net was talking about how he came to be an Apple fan. He said that he had a friend who had a gorgeous, slick iPod, which inspired him to get one.  The simplicity, usability and the general gorgeousness of the device along with his experience on it, nudged him towards getting a MacBook soon afterwards. And from there, the rest is history, as they say.

After I heard this, I checked around online, and indeed, there is an entire world of people who have succumbed, been seduced, been persuaded by and converted to this way of life.

I’ve joined this particular throng.

There is a term for this: the APPLE HALO EFFECT.

In 2009, I got a MacBook Pro 13.3″. At the time, there was a educational purchase deal that included the iPod Classic (really really useful and gorgeous, and really, 160 gb?).  Then in 2010, it was an iPod Touch. During a trip for work, I got an iPod Nano (square one). In September 2011, I needed a new phone and wen phoneless for 2 months until the iPhone 4S was released in Canada. When I started grad school, I purchased an iPad 2 and went paperless as much as I could. As soon as our finances are more stable, we may invest in an Apple TV device to stream home media and music.

What a halo. It’s just that THINGS. JUST. WORK, generally very well, very smoothly, and amazingly well with each other.

(I purchased a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 in October 2011, since mon Mari had a Samsung Galaxy S2 phone, and had an AWFUL experience and returned it for the iPad instead, which is a story for another day.)

Some people may ask if we really need all these devices. The answer is no. But they have been useful, and have enabled us to connect, share, teach and learn in ways that we otherwise would not have tried or known about.  Of course, with these (and any) devices came new habits and behaviors and thus the need to cultivate social rules and understandings around how we engage with them, and how we need to shepherd our time, so that we don’t end up spending fruitless time with gadgets that could be spent otherwise. (I admit, we do struggle with this, but I think  this is becoming more and more common for any modern household with children who attend school.)

I do want to add that we are not ONLY Apple at our house.  We have 6 computers in our house, and 5 are not Apple. Mon Mari has an Android phone. I look forward to trying out the new Galaxy Nexus 7″ tablet, so very much, too.

Anyway, the Apple halo effect is alive and well. I can testify to it.

