Reads

I used to read TONS. As in, a book a week, sometimes 3 or 4 when they were delicious thrillers that kept me riveted.  Oh, those days when I could read until 3 am and still be perfectly alert the next day.

2 things in life happened: I hit 32 years old, and a few years later, I had a baby boy. Then a  third thing happened, and that was my discovery of the world wide web.

Since then, I cannot stay up and read. Which is really too bad, since I joined a book club about then, in early 2009, that still meets to this day, but which I sadly dropped out of last year.

But then, I need to sleep, or pay attention to Le petit who naturally requests his mama’s attention, or I am distracted by things on the web like fail videos, stupid hipster parodies, tech news, Apple rumours and on and on and on.  So, I’m reading way way less these days. The way I get through books now is via audiobooks. I walk 25 minutes to and from work every day, so that’s almost 50 minutes of listening I can get through. Of course, sometimes I listen to podcasts and the other thing is I read way faster than the audiobook narrators read. My iPod lets me put the narration speed on “faster” but that’s still slower than I could physically read.

But I’m still trying to read. So here are my current books on the go, as of July 2012:

The Art of Fielding  Makeshift Metropolis: Ideas About Cities  On Photography
American Gods  Walk Like a Man: Coming of Age with the Music of Bruce Springsteen  Shades of Milk and Honey

more of my reads »

