Bound to others, past and present

Three days ago I saw a trailer for David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas.

Now this book, I’ve seen bouncing around in used and new bookstores, like, FOREVER: Toronto, Kingston, Seattle, Portland, Vancouver. So much so, that the cover of this particular edition of the book is ingrained in my mind.

cloud atlas

I’ve never really been interested in reading it, and then when I finally got around to reading reviews, it just seemed like a thick, dense, thinking novel that would take way more devotion and energy than I wanted to commit to, for a book I was only partly interested in.

Then, I saw the trailer.

 

Holy. cow. Do I want to read the book now.

It’s got all the makings of a fascinating film worth hours of post-viewing speculation and conversation. The¬†Wachowski brothers are producing: ’nuff said. Plus, Doona Bae, a doe-eyed Korean actress, has a major role in it, not to mention some other distinctive actors worth watching in any film: Tom Hanks, Jim Broadbent, Halle Berry and Hugo Weaving, just to name a few.

The quote that grabbed me and hasn’t yet let me go, spoken by Halle Berry’s character (I think), is:

Our lives are not our own. We are bound to others, past and present.

I don’t know if that is actually a quote from the novel, but for sure I will be checking it out.

